Posted in Uncategorized

Captain America: Civil War

CACW

Sophia – I have to say first and foremost – TEAM BUCKY!! But on the chance my preference for him be mistakenly attributed solely to his chiseled jaw and tortured bad-boy persona, “let me ‘splain. No, it would take too long, let me sum up” (you’re welcome) –  I’m a Bucky fan because of his friendship with Steve. Now, in this movie and in Winter Soldier, Steve is the one trying to save and care for Bucky, but let’s rewind. Let’s rewind to a bullied, overlooked, orphaned Steve from Brooklyn who had this friend, Bucky, who just wouldn’t quit on him. Bucky, who came to Steve’s defence in a fistfight and tried to get him dates and brought Steve into his family when Steve had lost his own. That…THAT is why I am team Bucky. *steps off soapbox*

I have two words for you – motorcycle scene. You’ll know it when you see it. *SO* *AWESOME*

I have four more words for you – Steve holding the helicopter. AHAHAHAHAHAHAHAH!!! *gasp* AHAHAHAHAHAHAH!! No, seriously, you cannot miss it.

So, one of my personal beefs with the Marvel universe has always been Tony Stark. He’s…just….ugh! Arrogant, entitled, playboy – sure, I get that. But he sees the consequences of his choices and is tortured by them and then, naturally, goes out and MAKES THE SAME CHOICES!! I repeat….ugh. Until now. In this movie, we see Tony making choices that will limit his seemingly limitless power, we see him broken by the suffering of others (both strangers and friends), and we see him being willing to let go of things that he’s held onto so closely because he sees that it might be better if he’s not holding them (i.e. Pepper).

Note on the soundtrack – part of the soundtrack was choral and it was very cool. I don’t always notice the music in these because it’s basically Jerry Bruckheimer on steroids, with the exception of some awesomeness whenever Iron Man enters the scene.

Arabella – Ok. Interesting. I wasn’t expecting to like this movie as much as I did. Over the past few years and the accompanying 7 million Marvel movies that Disney has been cramming down our throats, I lost the magic. Unsurprisingly, something about a massive soulless corporation out to make billions of dollars from every uninspired superhero fist-fight-on-steroids makes me think they don’t really care about emotional stakes or believable character development. Tragically, all they have to do is slap some terribly awkward dialogue in between wildly ripped men smashing the life out of each other and scores of people will come to see it…including me. But I make sure to loudly complain about how stupid and unbelievable the Marvel universe has become! So I take my stand. And while Civil War stuck to the Marvel recipe for success, at least this time they gave me a movie I could enjoy along the way.

So the things that I really enjoyed about this movie shall be listed first. Mostly, I really enjoyed seeing a division between characters that care for each other, think that they’re morally right and those that disagree are morally wrong, and feel the need to take a stand against each other, no matter how difficult that may be. I feel like the emotional oompf was back in this movie because beating a bad guy and subsequently removing them from the story has a vastly different feel from beating a friend whom you love but with whom you deeply disagree. That means more and has more weight, both for character development as well as audience enjoyment. The central conflict is between Captain America (obvsie!) and Iron Man, with the peripheral characters drawn in by necessity,  and it culminates in a VERY INTENSE!!! fight scene at the end of the movie. So much punching, but the movie has set up the emotional weight behind each blow and we can see very clearly on the character’s faces that every second of this is breaking something between them. All of this is laid against a backdrop of beeeeeeeeautiful, swelling orchestral music, highlighting the wild emotional intensity as Cap and Iron Man furiously fight towards the end. It’s just…wow. Yeah. I’m a fan! I’m also a fan of the lighter, more fun (?!) fight scenes. The motorcycle scene Sophia mentions, while defying many laws of physics, is pretty cool and there’s a scene where a lot of the characters come to fisticuffs with the aforementioned super awesome (but tragically brainwashed) Bucky, and the choreography for that scene is mightily enjoyable for me!

The things I don’t like are fairly easy to predict. There is unnecessary language in the movie and a whole (mercifully short!) scene of unnecessary exposition that is in the movie (I can only assume) ONLY to set up a storyline that they will later develop. I’m not sure if they were trying to sneak in something that is meant to be a surprise later but it was so awkward and oddly-placed that they may as well have had a giant neon sign flashing “THIS WILL COME UP AGAIN!!!! PAY SOME ATTENTION BUT NOT ENOUGH TO NOT BE SHOCKED AT THE BIG REVEAL!!!!! Oh! And also…WE THINK YOU’RE A BIT STUPID AS AN AUDIENCE!”…it would have to be a very large sign…

Favourite Line: Iron Man: Do you even remember them?” Bucky: “I remember all of them.” – It doesn’t have a lot of weight until you watch the movie but once you do you realize what kind of demons Bucky faces every day. Deeply moving…

Favourite funny line: “Are you Tony…Stank?” – Hee hee hee…one of the only Stan Lee appearances I like!

Obscenities – There is a smattering of what the cool kids are calling “mild obscenities” throughout the movie. There are also a handful of religious exclamations. The “nice” thing about these kinds of movies is that if you’re trying to avoid language, you’ll eliminate a lot of it by muting character’s reaction to the receipt of bad news – it’s pretty predictable.

Sex – There’s a kiss, and the reaction to it was hilarious. I laughed uproariously. Poor Steve just needs someone to LOVE him!

Audience – This is an action/superhero movie. There is fighting, violence and explosions. This should not be a shock to you, but if it is, well, you probably won’t get the whole tone of this blog anyway. Also, there are torture scenes. So, even older kids who are sensitive might be bothered by that.

Leave a Reply

